Using a computer every day can have more negative than positive effects on young children. Do you agree or disagree?

I tend to agree that young children can be negatively affected by too much time spent on computer every day. This is partly because sitting in front of a screen can be damaging to both the eyes and the physical posture of a young child, regardless of what they are using computer for.

The main concern is about the type of computer activities that attract children. These are often electronic games that tend to be very intense and rather violent. The player is usually the “Hero” of the game and too much exposure can encourage children to be self-centred and insensitive to others.

Even when children use a computer for other purposes, such as searching information or emailing friends, it is no substitute for human interaction. Spending time with other children and sharing non-virtual experience is an important part of a child’s development which cannot be provided by computer.

In spite of this, the obvious benefits of computer for young children cannot be denied. Their adult world will be changing constantly in terms of technology and the Internet is the key to all knowledge and the information available in the world today. Therefore, it is important that children learn at an early age to use the equipment with confidence as they will need these skills throughout their studies and working lives.

I think the main point is to make sure that young children do not overuse computers. Parents must ensure that their children learn to enjoy other kinds of activity and not simply sit at home, learning to live a virtual world.