Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the vanguard of technology, advertisement has a pivotal role in people’s product information acquirement. Many people believe that it is an efficient mean for everyone to buy high-quality goods and smooth the way for better life. However, the others perceive that advertising just distorts the truth and uses trick to make us buy unnecessary items. In this essay, I will support both views.

On one hand, it is believed that manufacturers abuse advertisement to make profit although their customers have no need to obtain. It can not be denied that producers will apply all strategies to talk consumers into buying goods by exaggerating its functions or images. In this case, people are easily taken in by advertisement’s ideal promises and have fallacy about product’s quality, which leads to their spending money unwisely. The perfect example for this is the introduction of functional products which are served for women’s weight-losing, household chores with extremely cheap price on TV. Indeed, people will have a chance to observe their in-need products lively and have an impulsion to buy them without knowing their detailed information. Therefore, buyers certainly feel shocked and regretful when using such terrible items because of its short using time, frequency of damage that need a relatively huge amount of money to repair. Accordingly, it is true to say that advertisement tend to lead people to futile goods.

However, thanks to the function of introducing new products, advertisement still brings people benefits in many cases. The reason is that customers will have a good knowledge in product’s information and make up their mind whether this item is suitable and worthwhile or not. As a result, they can partly avoid the problems of fake goods with low quality to restrict huge expense on wrong objects. For example, it has had a profound impact on people’s life in the rural areas. It is a common knowledge that those living in countryside tend to have less opportunities to approach modern information-transmitting means like Internet or media. Therefore, with the support from advertising industry, people can stand a golden chance of acquiring knowledge of convenient goods to have more choices for family’s shopping. Consequently, it can meet up people’s complicated demands and make way for their better life. Besides that, producers can also gain more profits and have motivation to create high-quality products when receiving buyer’s positive responses.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that advertisement has both negative and positive effect on people’s choices of buying goods. Therefore, it is essential for people to take products introduced into consideration to bring benefits for their life.