Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

For everyone living in modern community, advertising has undoubtedly become a part of our routine that we cannot escape from. On this account, advertising is considered more than successful at leading us to consuming, while others think it is the familiarity that made people lose sight of it. I hold the point that advertising is still an essential way for companies to sell their product or service.

It is true that general public have been surrounded by all kinds of advertisements since businesses existed. Therefore, consumers are more likely to take new arrivals, sales promotion and varieties of marketing tricks for granted. However, I still believe that advertising has a significant influence on customer's choice. Purpose of advertising in a mature business campaign is not as straightforward as a salesman knocking at the door, but to improve brand familiarity among their potential customers, expecting consumers to tend to pick their own product over the competitors when they have the demand. In other words, people cannot ignore advertisements, they're impacted unconsciously instead.

Another group holds the opinion that, with the popularization of Internet, people can easily access real feedback from reviewers, as well as price change from all producers or even the defects advertisement never told you. Consequently, consumers are more rational when making decisions thanks to information transparence. But we cannot ignore that advertising evolved with the Internet simultaneously. There's research shows advertising against online communities such as TikTok, YouTube increased steeply over 100% in past five years, advertisers have been working closer with KOLs and social network celebrities.

In conclusion, despite the fact that the consumers nowadays maybe the hardest to persuade ever, advertising can still have a significant effect on their decisions.