Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

An advert is, without a doubt, a necessity for the commodity branding. As the world of advertisement evolves the success of the advertising over persuading the customers to purchase becomes quite questionable whether it has maintained the existing purchasing figure or people become less interested in it. This essay will elaborate both perspectives.

Firstly, renouncing the former decades, the advertising was very successful in attracting the people to consume the advertised products. This was mainly contributed by the narrow range of media outlets compared to the present times. Few people got accessed to the broadcasting services such as televisions, radios and press. Therefore, there was no available approach for the public other than the advertisements on public media in order to get information about the desired goods. So, it is acceptable to assume that the advertising was greatly successful in persuading customers in the previous time.

However, the commonality of advertising lessens effectiveness unless it includes a fascinating idea to it. The outburst of digital commerce, together with the emerging media outlets, in the contemporary era has offered variety of information to the public with ease in accessibility. The more frequent the adverts, the lesser the public attention as it is indirectly proven to be abundant in availability which means that people no longer have to compete for the ownership.

All in all, persuading the customers through advertisements is considered to be less impactful compared to the previous years mainly due to the variety of media outlets, which tend to display all the requested information within seconds.