Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Companies promote advertisements via social media with the hope to persuade the customers to buy certain products. While many people believe that the ubiquity of promotion makes it less attractive to them, I would argue that commercials have been significantly effective in increasing the number of consumers.

On the one hand, the problem of advertising is that it not only appear with a high level of frequency but also unpredictably. For example, Youtube, a popular video sharing network, integrates at least one advertisement in every video and that advertisement often interrupts in the middle of a film or even a song. That would make viewers lose track of what they are watching, and also lose their interest in those shows. As a result, the viewers tend to overlook the content of the advertisements and skip them as soon as possible.

On the other hand, I would argue that advertisement plays an important role in drawing customer’s attention. To begin with, advertising is designed to target a wide range of viewers, which means the content of advertisements vary according to the types of customer. For instance, commercials aimed at kids have colourful images and catchy songs, making them interested in that particular product. In this regard, they can dominate the market and boost the sales of a company. Moreover, advertisements are repeated over and over on TV or the internet, consequently, they become fixed in the memory of viewers. In this way, customers choose to purchase the familiar products rather than what they have never seen before.

In conclusion, while some people tend to ignore commercials because of their omnipresence, I believe that the contribution of advertising is critical to the success of compaies.