Some people think news has no connection to people’s lives. So it is a waste of time to read the newspaper and watch TV news programs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is much debate over the relevance of mass communication to the real world. Many people consider receiving the latest news from newspapers and television shows to be time-consuming, however I completely disagree with this view. In my opinion, this kind of information plays an vital role in our life.

Admittedly, information from press or TV news programs may not appeal to a number of readers and audiences. The main reason is that due to their different interests and concerns, people may only pay attention to the news featuring the subjects they take into account. For instance, sport-minded individuals tend to be fascinated by reading sport daily news, while businessmen often look forward to the updates of economic situation. On the other hand, watching or reading the news which is irrelevant to people’s interests seems to be a waste of time to them.

Nevertheless, there is no doubt that media news is closely associated with our daily life. To begin, newspapers and TV programs are claimed to be the fastest ways to acquire new information about every aspect of life. Due to the development of broadcasting technology, news is transmitted to readers and audience as soon as the information is collected and edited, that helps people keep up with the changes and events occurring worldwide. For example, the COVID-19 pandemic has become one of the most serious health crises in human history. Without everyday news, people may hardly know about its origin, dangerousness and how to protect ourselves from this disease. Moreover, media news is also influential in shaping public opinion. To illustrate, it is true that a plethora of conflicts occur because people have various thoughts over the same thing, or new ideas contradict to familiar concepts. Through means of media, people can comprehend fully about the situation of their community, also innovative developments. In this way, people can share the same general knowledge and strengthen mutual understanding.

In conclusion, due to the diversity of people’s concerns, some audiences may find media news irrelevant to the real world. News not only has close connection to our daily lives from providing the latest information to forming public opinions.