Some people think news has no connection to people’s lives. So it is a waste of time to read the newspaper and watch TV news programs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people consider receiving the latest news from newspapers and television shows to be time-consuming. While I accept that there are some reasons why mass communication is believed to be unrelated to the real world, I completely disagree with this view. In my opinion, this kind of information plays a vital role in our lives.

Admittedly, information from press or TV news programs may sometimes not appeal to a number of readers and audiences. The main reason is that due to their different interests and concerns, people may only pay attention to the news featuring the subjects they find interesting. For instance, sport-minded individuals tend to be fascinated by reading sport news, while businessman often look forward to updates on the economic situation. On the other hand, watching or reading the news which is irrelevant to people’s interests seems to be a waste of time to them.

Nevertheless, there is no doubt that media news is closely associated with our daily lives. Newspapers and TV programs are claimed to be the fastest ways to acquire new information about every aspect of life. Due to broadcasting technology, news is transmitted to the public as soon as the information is collected and edited, and that helps people keep up with the changes and event occurring worldwide. For example, the COVID-19 pandemic has become one of the most serious health crises in human history. Without everyday news, people may hardly know about its origin and spread, and how to protect ourselves from this disease. Moreover, media news is also influential in shaping public opinion. Numerous conflicts take place because people have vastly different ideas on the same thing, or new ideas which are contrary to familiar concepts. Through the media, people can comprehend fully the situation of their community, and also innovative developments. In this way, people can share the same general knowledge and strengthen mutual understanding.

In conclusion, due to the diversity of people’s concern, some audiences may find media news irrelevant to the real world. News has close connections to our daily lives from providing information to forming public opinions.