Some people think that the best way to ensure road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving cars or riding bikes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals consider raising the legal driving age to be the most efficient method of improving road safety. However, I completely disagree with this view because there are more appropriate solutions to tackle this problem.

On the one hand, increasing the driving age can help reduce traffic accidents, thus making it safer for other drivers and pedestrians. To begin with, a high percentage of incidents are caused by young drivers every year. The main reason is that they are not mature enough to understand the consequences of their careless driving, therefore, by raising the driving age, only mature adults will be driving cars and motorbikes. Furthermore, as older people are more experienced, they can know how to handle unpredictable situations on the road, while younger one might not be able to. To illustrate, if the brakes of a car suddenly fail, a young driver may panic, and be more likely to cause an accident.

On the other hand, due to the fact that many adolescents drive without passing a driving test, raising the minimum driving age can only curtail traffic accidents to a minor extent. As a result, more viable methods of ensuring road safety must be figured out. One of the most effective ways is having more serous penalties for those who commit driving offences. For example, heavy fines could be imposed on people drinking alcohol while driving and the licence of drivers with a record of speeding tickets or reckless driving offenses should be revoked. Another solution is upgrading the public transportation system. For instance, by speeding up vehicle boarding or reducing travel fares, mass transit can attract more passengers, that means the number of private vehicles travelling at the same time would drop. In this way, drivers and pedestrians may no longer get involved in unfortunate traffic accidents.

In conclusion, while the increase in the legal driving age may help cut down on traffic accidents, there are still better methods to ensure road safety such as imposing harsh punishments and improving public transportation.