Some people think that the best way to ensure road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving cars or riding bikes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the current society, raising legal driving age is considered to be the most efficient method to control road safety. While I accept that this method has some undeniable effects, I would argue that there are more appropriate solutions to tackle this problem.

On the one hand, increasing the minimum driving age can help reduce traffic accidents, thus improving the safety of drivers and pedestrians. To begin with, a large number of incidents are caused by young drivers every year. The main reason is that those drivers are not mature enough to understand the consequences of their careless driving and also inexperienced to handle unpredictable situations on the road. Therefore, by raising the driving age, authority can make sure that even the youngest drivers are aware of their responsibility for their own lives and other people’s lives when driving.

On the other hand, due to the fact that many youngsters drive without driving licence, this measure can only restrain traffic accidents in a minor scale. As a result, more pertinent solutions need to be applied widely. One of the most effective ways to enhance road safety is to impose more serious penalties on those who commit driving offences. For example, heavy fine could be imposed for people using alcohol while driving and taking away licences of relapsing drivers should also be considered. Another solutions is upgrading public transportation’s system. By speeding up vehicle boarding or reducing travel fares, mass transit can attract more passengers, that means less vehicles would be moving on the roads, therefore, traffic accidents would decrease in a larger scale.

In conclusion, while the increase in legal driving age may help reduce traffic accidents, there are still better methods to ensure road safety such as imposing harsh punishments and improving public transportation.