Watching a live performance such as a play, concert, or sporting event is more enjoyable than watching the same event on television. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Entertainment in this day and age can not only be enjoyed live on the spot but also through the screen. While many people are pleasant to watch concerts, sporting events at home, I completely side with the opinion of watching live performances for unique experiences it brings about.

On the one hand, the main obstacle which prevents people from attending live performances would be the high costs they have to spend, whereas broadcasted shows cost almost nothing but a TV set. To begin with, entrance tickets to live events can be expensive, and sometimes, sold out in a short time. Take Coachella, a popular music festival, as an example; in 2020, the most affordable ticket costed no less than $500, and the tickets of all tiers had been sold in about one hour. Moreover, if the event is not held at the place where people are living, they have to spend more money including travelling and accommodation fee. In other words, watching shows at home helps viewers save money and also time for travelling.

However, I would argue that it is worth attending at least a live performance in our lives. First of all, there are more activities to do at outdoor events rather than just watching and listening. Owing to the lively music and atmosphere, audiences can truly immerse in the songs, dances, cheers, applause. They can also interact with people on stage or even have the chance to perform along the singers, dancers. Furthermore, going to live events is beneficial for our social life. People who attend the same shows would have similar interest and hobbies, that means they can freely talk about the show itself or why they get into this interest, and also enjoy the performances together. For example, in football matches, the supporters of a club often chant their club’s traditional song collectively, and cheer whenever a goal is scored. In this way, live performances can help enhance mutual understanding and create many memorable experiences.

In conclusion, while being audiences at home may be comfortable and economical, it can not compare with live performances in terms of unique experiences that only people who attend can understand.