Some people think the qualities a person needs to become successful in today’s world cannot be learned at a university or similar academic institution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s highly complicated world, it is believed that universities and other academic institutions cannot provide students with essential qualities for them to succeed in life. I think that although people can gain vital qualities at tertiary education, they should keep practicing and working hard to become successful.

On the one hand, the importance of educational settings cannot be ignored. First, students can acquire qualities which are of paramount importance for their life success. For example, by completing assignments and projects within a time budget, students can learn to plan and prioritize, which sharpens their time-management skills. Second, achievements in certain areas only go for qualified professionals. In other words, in some highly skilled professions, knowledge at academic institutions is a prerequisite. Take the case of doctors, for instance, the continuous diagnosis and practice cannot compensate for years of rigorous training at a medical school.

On the other hand, individuals cannot succeed with academic qualifications alone. First, people need to sharpen their skill sets in the real working environment. As theories from textbooks are generally outdated, one needs to expose themselves to various real-life situations at the workplace; otherwise, they will fail to meet their job requirements. Besides, some talented individuals still manage to achieve success without any degrees. In the case of Bill Gates, a successful billionaire who quitted his program at Harvard, a prestigious university, it is his passion and diligence which drove him to the fame and fortune he deserves.

In conclusion, I think qualities to success can be learned at school as long as students are aware of self-improvement.