Some people think spoken communication is more powerful than written communication. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people consider oral communication to be superior to written communication. However, I partly agree with this statement; in my opinion, deciding which types of communication is more effective depends on certain circumstances.

On the one hand, the main reason why spoken communication is believed to be more powerful than written communication is that people are more likely to understand what other speakers are feeling. In face-to-face conversations, the emotions of the speakers tend to be conveyed simultaneously with the intended message. Those emotions, including excitement, passion, or even nervousness, can be expressed through the tone of the speakers, their gestures, face expressions, and body language. In contrast, reading off the same text from a piece of paper may not be as effective because of the lack of proper manner of the speakers. For example, in dating, by observing their partners talking, people can figure out the other’s true feelings, so they may understand more about each other. Therefore, in the attempt to strengthen mutual relationships, verbal communication would be more powerful than other means of communication.

However, I would argue that due to its stability, written communication is not less effective. To illustrate this, when a piece of information is written or printed down, there can be hardly any way that it can be modified. As a result, the possibility of misinterpretation can be mitigated, protecting the authenticity of the information. Take business contracts as an example, these documents are discussed, then printed with the agreement of all parties, so when a conflict emerges, the contracts can prove which side is right. In other words, in circumstances requiring authenticity and stability, written communication tends to be more effective.

To sum up, it is difficult to conclude which means of communication is more effective. While spoken communication help people comprehend each other, written statements would be more powerful in terms of reliability.