Some people think spoken communication is more powerful than written communication To what extent do you agree or disagree

Many individuals are of the opinion that oral communication is more effective than written communication. From my perspective, both spoken and written forms are important in equal measure, and therefore, I completely disagree with the statement.

Spoken language, on the one hand, facilitates our daily communication. Almost all social activities that human beings engage in, such as making purchases, exchanging information, and chatting with friends, require people to utter words to one another. Hence, it is not an overstatement to say that a lack of oral communication renders us unable to carry out essential tasks in our lives. Additionally, speaking can enable us to emotionally connect with listeners. For instance, the tone of one’s voice can convey a wide range of emotional messages, which is why some people can inspire and influence others simply through powerful speech as an effective tool of persuasion and expression.

Written communication, on the other hand, also has advantages that make it a superior choice over oral language in some situations. In the workplace, written messages, emails or documents are effective tools. While speech may be ignored and misunderstood, written forms are usually stated clearly. Thus, employees can reread documents repeatedly to steer clear of miscommunication. From a legal perspective, written forms are also required in legal procedures. Most contracts are carefully drawn up in written form and entail signatures, and therefore they are valid and hard to violate. In contrast, almost ‘agreements’ and ‘promises’ in oral forms are, in most cases, invalid.

In conclusion, my firm conviction is that both spoken and written communication are equally important in our society. Whereas, spoken language can enable us to do daily tasks and effectively express our emotions, written language is useful in the workplace and plays an integral role in legal matters.