Some people say that art subjects such as music, drama and creative writing are an essential part of education, and every school should include them in its syllabus. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give your opinion and examples from your own experience.

It is said that art subjects are to be part of any school's study programme. Personally, I am totally in favour of this idea, and in this essay, the benefits that art subjects can have on society and pupils will be discussed.

Art has always helped improve people's wellbeing. Whether a person produces art or they simply enjoy it, the benefits in terms of stress reduction are undebatable. For instance, almost everyone over the course of their lives has felt regenerated or relaxed by watching a movie, listening to music, or involving themselves in creative activities such as playing an instrument. Hence, since art has always played an important role in society, I advocate that this should be taught in every school, so that future generations will be educated in art and may be more aware of the benefits of it. Thereby, they may use it when they need to relax, and so improve their mental health.

In addition, some people may not be good at scientific subjects, but they probably excel in art. In other words, a person could find out during music lessons at school that they are talented at playing the piano. This could lead them to enrol in specific music schools and eventually become rich musicians. For example, a famous musician said in an interview that the person who made him discover his talent for music for the first time was his school teacher who encouraged his parents to invest in his talent. He is now a very-well-paid musician, and who knows if he would have become who he is today if he had not been taught music at school.

In conclusion, since art has always helped people unwind and some musicians can make big money out of their music or talent, I advocate that it has to be part of any school curricula due to its great importance for society.