Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people believe that public health can be improved by increasing the number of sports facilities, while others think that it is hardly effective and other measures should be taken. It is hard to choose one of the ideas as correct, before discussing both of them.

Some think that public health issues can be solved just by adding more sports facilities. However, this proposal assumes that the main reason why people are unhealthy is that they lack access to such facilities. In reality, the causes may include work stress, a lack of time and poor diet. Furthermore, adding more facilities cannot help all people because it is possible to improve health without special equipment as well. As walking, running in the streets and doing such kind of exercises can help people to achieve this, it seems that a lack of access to facilities is not really the cause for poor public health. Thus, by adding more facilities, it is really hard to improve people’s health in public level.

Clearly, other steps should be taken to tackle the problem. If people have no time to do exercises, it is reasonable to increase public awareness of the idea that taking time out from the pressures of work has health benefits. To deal with the problem of unhealthy food, it is effective to encourage people to eat more nutritious food rather than the junky alternative. Nevertheless, not everybody will miss out on work or simply change their food preference. Therefore, there is no really simple solution to solve the public health problems.

In conclusion, people’s health is not poor due to unavailability of sports equipment and there are other causes for it. Thus, it is more realistic to think about changing people’s working habits and diets.