In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way.

Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

These days many brands put high emphasis on their advertisements to show that the launched products are new to some extent. There can be several reasons behind this trend and I think that it can bring more drawbacks than benefits.

To begin with, this development can bring some advantages to businesses. Firstly, more products of these companies can be sold due to such advertisements, because many people have natural tendencies to try new things that they see. Therefore, the companies’ profits may dramatically increase as a result of the increased number of purchases of their products. Furthermore, these adverts can also increase the popularity of the brand by showing people that its product is better than the ones from its other competitors as a company than manufactures innovative products may seem better that the others which do not. Thus, businesses can earn more money and increase their brand recognition because of these advertisements.

However, this development can rarely benefit the society or the people who buy the products. Some may argue that in order to show the product as new, companies may use recent scientific breakthroughs. Nevertheless, this does not always ensure that the quality of the products will improve as well. Thus, it might lead to a decrease in the qualities of the goods if the manufacturers focus on inventing new things rather than improving existing ones. Furthermore, by seeing this kind of ads too much, people may begin to recognise these products as high quality, so the goods which really possess this feature may fail to be recognised.

In conclusion, mainly businesses can benefit from this trend, but it is not advantageous to the people who are purchasing the products. Clearly, this is a negative development.