Some people say free time activities for children should be organized (by parents). Others say that children should be free to choose what they do in their free time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Time flies, dragging exponential change in human awareness as to how free play is crucial to children. It, even though, is critical to support the idea that once young kids play or study, there should be parental control in order to shield them from any unexpected accidents. I, as a far-left supporter, lean on the opposite viewpoint now that creativity and independence are two elements making free play without parental constrain suitably.

On the one hand, the risk of crime and traffic are no longer concerns if there is parents’ company with kids during playing time. The drastic modifications in society spark a myriad of heinous crimes, which more or less wields strong influence over children’s safety. By far the most dangerous crimes are human trafficking or kidnapping causing some severe harm to minors’ psychology, which can be partially avoided if children are under parents’ observation all the time. Furthermore, the escalation of traffic accidents has alarmed fathers and mothers in taking good care of their children. A woeful fact is that the cases of the injured juvenile due to traffic accidents leap drastically these days, which surely can scare parents. Without spending time to supervise their kids, adverse repercussions are unavoidable.

On the other hand, I express my firm support that free play is helping children one step towards the capacity of creativity and strengthening their independence. When it comes to creativity, research carried out by professors in distinct prestigious universities states that by creating an enchanted kingdom with breathing dragons or heroes, children are able to boost their creativity, which facilitates them in school life. However, this benefit will be confined if there is parents’ appearance. Moreover, by deciding which games to play, the young enable to consolidate their independence. Needless to say, that independence is a lifelong skill that most people long to master in order to reach the zenith of success in later life. Therefore, instead of making kids belong to parents in any making-decision, giving them chances to show their own choices can be a wise method to train their independence.

In conclusion, parental controls in free play may exert even some advantageous and negative impacts; however, freeing kids in expressing their preferences can do more good than harm.