Young people today spend too much money and time following fashion trends (clothing, tech) .To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The story of how the young go so far as to devote both time and money to fashion items has been no longer new since time immemorial. Notwithstanding receiving heinous diatribe from senior citizens, I woefully admit that there seems to be nothing changed much with the young’s shopping patterns.

To begin with, the desire to draw others’ attention makes the minor waste their time and fortune to purchase unnecessary high-cost products. It is noticeable to catch a multitude of young boys and girls putting on their bodies clothes and accessories with the price of millions or even billions on the streets. They consider expensive brand-name products can assist them to hold the spot of the crowd. There has been emerging an exclusive interview carried out on the streets, the question which is the same for all of the interviewers who are in the age range of 14 to 25 is about their outfit cost. The answers received could shock the public now that they have to pay over 2000 dollars for just a shirt while a normal cost is just a dollar. However, the more expensive the items are, the more attention its owner can get. Therefore, young people think that high-cost merchandise is worth the value.

Another reason which can be employed to explain why the youth long to search for the costliest items is due to imitation. It is undeniable that celebrities exert a strong influence on most of the young generation from fashion styles to discarding used-good habits. Due to the favor on their idols, they will try to obtain the same thing possessed by famous ones even though it costs them an arm and a leg. That is the reason why popular brand-name companies such as Gucci or Dolce & Gabanna have invited well-known people to become brand ambassadors owing to their certainty in the soaring sales. Under the eyes of adoring fans, sparkling things worn on celebrities’ bodies are good enough to be acquired since the young can be on-trend and get close in mental distance to their admired people.

In conclusion, instead of purchasing necessary items, teenagers and young adults are wasting their resources on expensive things.