Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Education plays an important role in overall development of children. There are number of people who believe that history is priority subject to be included in school curriculum, while others argue and opine that subjects like science and technology should be given more importance over others. In this essay, I will discuss both the views.

it is often observed that most students memorize dates, names, events and facts that they study in history, while this information is not useful in everyday life or in the future. it is important to consider the fact that science and technology are gradually developing fields in the modern society. As a result, these sectors are always in demand and number of job opportunities are significantly on the rise. Hence, most people think that children should focus on those subjects in school, in order to be prepared and to secure better future.

However, I also opine that history helps young people to understand their own culture and how their culture and country has evolved. it gives sense of roots and belonging. it teaches pupils what their forefathers experienced and went through in order to develop their country. history records the successes and failures from the past, from which students can learn to avoid the same mistakes in the future. Lessons from the past often gives us glimpse of the future. Valuable information from the past can be found in history, such as use of traditional medicines.

After analyzing both the sides, in my view, though the importance of science and technology is inevitable, history is of equal importance and should be included in school syllabus.