Some people say history is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge. Write at least 250 words.

Recently, the importance of school subjects and its corresponding impacts have sparked a long-running dispute. In this regard, apart from miscellaneous beneficial aspects of studying History in schools, some others believe that, in today’s modern era, Science and Technology comes first. In my mind, considering Science and Technology as one of the most significant subjects amongst schools is far better than History with respect to human progresses and student’s future.

Undoubtedly, groundbreaking progresses of mankind stem from the fact that Medieval people chose science as their first priority. Invention of such technologies as the Internet and super-computers, as little as one’s palm, paves the way to prominent advances, for instance, walking on the moon and making space travels. Thus, through taking no notice of teaching Science and Technology in schools, scientists couldn’t even imagine about these phenomena.

Moreover, students have the opportunity to learn critical thinking through putting Science and Technology as the most important subject in schools. Nowadays, one of main faces of literacy is ability to learn new subjects. As a consequence, students could dare to experience novel experiments due to scientific methods which they have learnt in schools. And so, in their future life, they can cope with their problems. It is likely that students as would-be scientists and inventors, in not far distant future, will come up with innovative solutions for our current worldwide issues like climate change and finding inhabitable alien planets.

However, remarkable number of individuals are of the opinion that today’s state-of-the-art civilizations are based on historical communities. Hence, study of History subjects, as early as in the primary school makes pupils to be accustomed with their ancestors and the value of ancient cultures. They maintain that pondering about history contributes to development of the major part of nations’ identification, while we should learn from History to prospect our future.

To sum up, despite compelling arguments on both sides, I am inclined to believe that the merits of spending much time on Science and Technology in schools rather than History far outweigh its downsides. Could you believe that the great Pyramids of Egypt was constructed by those days’ humans? Perhaps all these scientific and technological progresses which we witness nowadays, in fact, are rehabilitations of human’s previous skills and technologies!