Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History.

Discuss both this views and give your own opinion.

There have been heated controversies over the academic focus on different school subjects. While some people believe that History should be prioritized in the basic school curriculum, others point out the necessity to steer the focus to other subjects such as Science and Technology. Although there is some compelling evidence for the first clause, from my perspective, the latter one makes more sense.

Regarding the bolstering side, supporters of concentrating on History in school programs highlight the importance of getting students familiar with their national cultures and formations. It is indisputable that citizens should be aware of the national events and the historical timelines of their nations. Moreover, by popularizing History lessons to students educators will successfully provide learners with national pride as well as meaningful purposes to protect their motherlands. To be more specific, if a child is taught about the perilous wars and battles that his country went through, he will be more willing to sacrifice and contribute to his homeland in the foreseeable future. Therefore, it is understandable why people regard History as a crucial subject, given the national benefits that it produces.

However, on the other hand, opponents of the former statement contend the demand for future developments based on scientific and technological advancements. First and foremost, technology is becoming a pivotal means of communication and a useful tool to make innovations, which boosts the need to get students well-equipped with technology skills at an early age to better achieve optimal results in terms of inventions. In addition, a majority of people assert it is time to look at the future and take care of the upcoming days. Hence, instead of focusing on the past, steps should be taken in advance to create a knowledgeable generation with sufficient readiness to tackle and overcome any unexpected hindrances such as environmental issues. Therefore, Science and Technology deserve a higher priority in school programs since they meet the urgent demands of humankind.

In conclusion, while it is conceivable that History is an important subject in the basic curriculum, I still believe in the plausible factors to steer the concentration to Science and Technology.