Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Others people think that, in today’s world, subjects like science and technology are ore important than history.

Discuss both of the views and give your opinion.

School is a place where students are introduced to variety of subjects that help them gain self-awareness and knowledge about their surroundings. But at times, a debate is sparked among people about importance of a few subjects relative to other, like some people think that history is one of most important subject, while others are of the opinion that subjects related to Science and Technology hold a higher. This essay will discuss both of the perspectives.

History is the study of past, the kind of practices followed by our ancestors across different parts of the world. This includes information about food, lifestyle, diseases, economy, technology and architecture because of which it is essential for upcoming generations to study it and concepts learnt from history forms the basis of today developments. For instance, looking back at one of the famous civilisations that resided in the norther parts of current day India has formed the basis of modern sewage and drainage system systems across the world. Also, studying about the architecture and lifestyle provides us with answers about why and how a country follows certain traditions and culture. Nevertheless, the past gives an insight on what kind of failures were experienced, which intern will help avoid the same mistakes in the future.

On the other hand, with the advent of technology the circumstances that we face today are quite different from the past because of which the relatability factor is diminishing. Today we have modern problems like pollution, over-population that hardly existed back then. Such problems would require innovative solutions, which can be drawn from fields of science and technology. Furthermore, a wider perspective is achieved which gives us a better hold of future. For instance, the space discoveries and research carried out has given a deeper view into our galaxy and our existence. This helps us to see what the future holds for us and if we are ready to face it.

Lastly, after a deeper view of both the perspectives, I am of the opinion that science definitely is the more vital when compared to history.