Some people say it is more important to plant trees in the open spaces in towns and cities than to build more housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, an increasing number of people are concerned about the fact that trees and greenery are of significant importance in urban areas. I completely agree with the idea that we should plant trees in available urban spaces rather than building housing blocks.

First, it goes without saying that trees play a key role in our daily life. In other words, trees generate oxygen and clean the air from carbon dioxide. People living in residential areas with greenery, subsequently, can have better health. In addition, so necessary are green areas for cities' ecosystems that they attract various wildlife, such as insects, butterflies, birds or bees. As it follows, it is planting trees in cities and towns that can bring numerous advantages to people and the environment. On the contrary, living in concrete districts without plants may lower the quality of life.

That is not to say that constructing habitats in the vaant territories of the urban area is not crucial. Constructing buildings, of course, an provide human beings with safety, security and shelter. In other words, as a roof over the head an save people from a wide range of calamities, housing is one of the fundamental requirement for humankind. Building more homes in empty spaces, therefore, is a crucial way of meeting the demand of urban residences. Nevertheless, constructing buildings in unoccupied territories is a minor solution to solve the problems of urban dwellers.

In conclusion, I would argue that planting trees can be considered the single most critical element for the presence of people on the Earth, despite the few advantages of establishing homes in the city regions. Only by doing so, can the planet become better.