Some people say that the main enviromental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The loss of particular species of plants and animals has been a major concern in recent years. While some people might say that it is the main environmental problem of our time, others would argue that there are more important problems that need our attention. Personally, I appreciate both these views as I believe they are all equally important issues and need to be addressed as much as possible.

First of all, I understand why the disappearance of plants and animals has been considered a major issue. Due to excessive hunting as well as the lack of preservation and conservation system, the ecosystem has been negatively affected. Some plants are unable to grow and reproduce, animals are becoming extinct, all of which can result in diversity imbalance of the nature. Illegal hunting for ivory, for instance, has been addressed publicly for many years but have not yet to be banned completely. The recent news regarding excessive hunting for ivory that had led to the extinction of an elephant species has raised an alarming concern over the protection systems of governments towards rare plants and animals.

Second, I also agree that environmental problems do not only focus on issues relating to the loss of plants and animals. Critical problems like global warming and greenhouse gas effect has caused a detrimental effect on our health and had a negative impact on our living conditions and well-beings. As a result of increasing gas emissions, the daily temperature has risen significantly over the years. It is therefore predicted that in twenty years' time, we might not be able to save the Earth as it has been heavily damaged by pollutions and unsustainable consumption.

All in all, even though it is true that the decline in some plants and animal species should be addressed more, we should also give our attention to other important issues as well, especially those that may have direct impact on our lives.