Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement ?

Traveling to a country that speaks another language is already hard, living in one could raise even more problems. Not only can it cause social problems, it can make people struggle with practical issues as well. The purpose of this essay is to support the statement by demonstrating the two main reasons why living in a foreign country is hard.

First and foremost, not being able to speak another language can make it more difficult to communicate, especially when we want to make friends with the locals. Because we cannot speak their language very well, it will be challenging to try to understand their culture and adapt to the new environment. From my personal experience of living in South Korea for four months, I found it extremely difficult to translate my opinions into Korean, especially when the other person also struggled with the same thing.

Second, practical problems can also arise when it comes to not knowing the foreign language. This is exceptionally true for people who have to travel around alone. There were many times when I found myself struggled to order food and ask for directions. Since it is a new and different society we have to live in, adjusting to the new lifestyle is not likely to happen immediately.

All in all, there can be plenty of issues when dealing with the life outside our home country. Nevertheless, if we can find ways to overcome the problems, our experience in a foreign country might become more enjoyable. As countries are shifting towards globalization and people are trying to learn how to speak in a common language, communicating hopefully would not be as hard as it used to be.