Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed ?

It has become more common nowadays to see people working as a freelancer or be self-employed. While there are several reasons why this might be a good thing, being self-employed can also cause certain drawbacks.

First of all, people choose to work freely instead of working for a company or organisation mainly because they like to have total control over their work. Working in freelance creates more flexibility, people can therefore choose to pursue in whichever fields they like. For example, working as a freelancer in designing, they are not bound to any rules regarding the working hours or how to deliver a good design. They are free to choose to work in anywhere, at anytime as long as they get the work done on time and create satisfactory outcomes.

Second, while it may be ideal to start thinking about self-employment due to the reasons I have mentioned above, it is also necessary to consider about potential disadvantages as well. To begin with, being self-employed means that people are more likely to earn lower salary than those who work for big firms or organisations because their main source of income solely depends on the contracts signed with customers. Some customers may not willing to pay large amount of money when first hiring a freelancer, not to mention that not many people know about the existence of freelancers, even those who possess specialized skills at professional levels in the fields. Furthermore, lack of job security can also contributes greatly to the drawbacks. Admittedly, self-employed is an unstable job, which can only be suitable for those who are not afraid of taking risks.

All in all, even though many people choose to work independently as freelancers due to many reasons, they also need to take into consideration the drawbacks that come with it before making such life-changing decisions.