Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Unrestrained exploitation of natural resources has squandered our planet to a great recognition. Some people consider that the extinction of the species is the biggest environmental issue. While others argue that other problems such as industrialization, increase in global temperatures, pollution, etc are major issues faced by today's generation. This essay will discuss both the situations with my personal opinion.

Over the past few decades, the rate of extinction of species has paced up and is a quite concern to all. The main reason behind such a situation is unrestricted hunting of animals. Deforestation is the second major reason for the depletion of plants and animals to a great extinct. The greenhouse gases and the increase in levels of harmful gases such as carbon-dioxide and sulphur have negatively affected the health of animals and plants. To cite an example, the number of sparrows has decreased to a great in last few years due to increase pollution.

Other challenges faced are climatic changes and the increase in global temperatures. Furthermore, the industrial revolution and exploitation of resources have effectively polluted the habitats and destroyed the natural reserves, on which numerous plants and animals rely, consequently leading to their extermination. The global warming issue is making the situation even worse. If such rate of global warming continues, the time is not far when we would be standing at the brink of extinction.

To conclude, the annihilation of flora and fauna is a major problem faced by today's generation and it is vital to protect them. However, I believe that the roots of this situation are deforestation, pollution, and other environmental issues. Hence, these issues should be resolved first, which will indirectly lead to the conservation of the particular species.