Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The rising of environmental issues has been under consideration by publicity for decades. Many people hold the view that the large degradation of significant species is an alarming problem. This is definitely true for our part dependence on natural species in modern times; However, I personally argue that there are more severe issues of nature such as pollution, which will be explained and given numerous reasons in the following paragraphs.

There is no doubt that the huge loss of vital flora and fauna in this decade has caused severe consequences to the whole ecology and human society. In the first place, the disappearance of particular species leads to ecological imbalance. For instance, the shortage of useful insects such as bees or specific butterflies can result in vulnerable plants and flowers being easily infected by disease and pests. This, on a massive scale, causes hunger and poverty in agricultural nations. Secondly, if the large extinction of precious herbs occurs, there will be a struggle for humanity to find substitutes. To illustrate, without these species, people in remote areas or developing nations, which rely most on herbs and vegetation to cure disease, must look for much more expensive methods - orthodox medicines. This causes a range of social and economic problems for the local community.

On the other hand, I suppose that more environmental issues must be considered, such as air pollution for its enormous effect and danger to humans and creatures. To begin, uncontrolled air pollutants emitted are ruining our living habitats and scenery. It can be clearly seen that in crowded metropolitans, there is much permanent gas comprising polluted air surrounding the atmosphere in particular weather. This has reduced not only citizens’ physical sight, but also the city’s scene with previous landscape and houses which may eliminate lots of people’s interests, especially in cities of tourism. Furthermore, this concentration of polluted atmosphere definitely causes a large number of lethal diseases. According to studies, the number of patients suffering from lung-related ailments has increased precipitously for over a decade. As a result, the health and lifespan of humans will be reduced substantially as our lives are in accordance with air pollution for a long period.

In conclusion, although the extinction of particular animals and plants is at an alarming rate in this decade, there is no denying that other environmental problems including air pollution should be considered seriously for our future.