Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Obviously, the music is one of focal points of national culture. And people have divergent opinions whether music alleviates cross-cultural boundaries and facilitates generation relationships. Although, I think people overestimate the music impact levelling the differences between generations and cultures, it is of note strengthens national and ages bounds.

On the one hand, the grave issue in generations lack of understanding is that grown and elderly people do not tend to be great fans of current music flows. They often opt for music that they are used to listen during their formative years, whereas youngsters listen modern top charts. This preference diversity even fosters the increase in generational gap leading to misunderstanding between adults and children. For instance, the list of USA trending singers includes the Eminem, Kanye West and Rihanna, whose tracks are universally spread both internationally and domestically. But it is rather difficult to imagine several old people who will be fond of brash rap and sugary pop songs. As opposed to youth, they would prefer intricate melodies and insightful writing of The Beatles or the raw sincerity of old school rap.

On the other hand, music is a major distinguisher of national culture, which, probably, will not decipher the country’s history overall, but could provide audience with instantaneous overview of the current cultural trends. I mean, some talented musicians are able to give the deep message through their melodies, that would be understandable even for people from diverse cultural backgrounds. One of such impeccable examples could be Bob Marley’s music, because he made up the melodies that ward off universal feeling of love and nation empathy. Moreover, Bob Marley creation was positively contrasting against the political biases and economical upheavals inside country at that time. Thus, any person was inspired by this compositor and his music is still widely recognizable almost in each corner of the world and by every person despite of the age.

To conclude, although music may actually do more to divide the young and old it definitely uses its universality to bring together different cultures and mediate cross-cultural relationships.