Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.Discuss both these views and give your o

Being lingual is the need of the time. Certain people opine that learning a new language is required only if one has to travel for work or to visit a particular country. While others are of the view that such reasons are not the only reasons for learning a new language. This essay shall discuss both benefits of learning a new language and why some think it is not as important. Also in the end I will give my point of view.

According to some people new language must be learned under two circumstances, that is, if they are travelling for adventure or fun or visiting the country for work purpose. Let's further discuss why in such cases learning a new mother tongue is of use. First of all if you are visiting a country for a business endeavor for example selling of a product, then it is of utmost importance that you learn their basic language in order to make them connect to you more and build trust so that they will show positive response; doing so they will appreciate the effort you have put in in order to learn their respective native language. Secondly, if you are travelling for fun or on vacations then you must learn their basic communication skills for instance, how you say hello, how to introduce oneself, how to ask for directions and so on, especially in countries where they do not speak any other language than their own native one. To make a case in point, I went to Saudia Arabia to perform my holy prayer, there I faced a major language barrier, as I were not able to communicate with the embassy, moreover, calling a taxi explaining location and negotiating the price was a huge pain in the neck. So, I think before visiting any country you must learn their basic communication skills.

On the other hand, some people think that above mentioned reasons are not the only reasons one must be learning a new language. Why? Let's discuss this aspect as well. All private school franchises are making languages like Chinese and German mandatory. The question here is why? because learning of official language and mother tongue is not enough in this era. People are constantly moving towards advancement and development. Our future generation must be well equipped with multi lingual skill because we do not want language to be a hurdle in their achievements.

According to me, everyone must be multi lingual in order to excel more and more in the future and broadening horizons for their success.