Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?

Education is the utmost priority of every individual. For this reason, nowadays certain universities are providing the facility to study online. I opine, this trend has both positive and negative impacts. Following essay shall discuss both aspects accompanied with some examples and their effects.

Acquiring education online is much more convenient for people who want higher posts but due to tiresome working hours they cannot upgrade their qualification level and also those who start working even before completing their basic education. Moreover, stay at home moms benefit the most from such education system. Supporting the positive aspects of this trend I will quote few examples with evidences. In the first place, certain people who are forced to work at a very young age because of several unfavorable circumstances, for instance, supporting their family financially or due to lack of proper education system or resources, such system of learning can help them in completing their studies further. By such mode of education they can sign up any time and attend classes from anywhere while working, therefore, not interrupting their working hours. Second example is of people who are trying to achieve better designations in workplace but due to degree barrier they cant do so. In order to achieve proper education without taking time off from work; online education is the best option. They can work and study both at the same time. I will give example of myself here as a stay-at-home mother. Such facility has helped me in improving my degrees to a much higher extent; by studying and looking after my home and children at the same time. For me it is a blessing in disguise.

On the contrary, there is a negative side to it as well. Although online study is accessible to people but it lacks discipline. The old school method of going for education, taking classes, making friends, meeting assignment deadlines are all the missing factors in such educational system, which in fact plays a vital role in personality development. Sometimes, it can over burden a person as well if he fails to manage his work and study life simultaneously.

In my opinion, online education is better option for those who are unable to conduct their education at a proper time due to certain reasons, but if you are resourceful and can manage, then getting education through proper channel is the best option.

To conclude, online education has both good and bad aspects but good is definitely out weighs bad.