Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language Discuss both these views and give your ow

There is a debate whether the sole reason to learn foreign language are for preparing us to travel or work in foreign country while others argue that those are not the only reason. I completely agree with the latter view and will explain the reasons.

On the one side, having to travel or work in overseas country require people to master nonnative language. This is because, all of people's daily activities, ranging from buying transportation ticket to communicating with other people involve using language. Hence, if people do not understand the language that is used in the overseas country, they will find difficulties in doing their activities in that country. For instance, Judah came from United States to Japan for solo traveling purpose. Because he already learned basic Japanese, the language that is mostly used in Japan, he could do daily activities in Japan without having much difficulty. However, having to travel or work in overseas country is not the sole reason of people in studying foreign language.

On the other side, there is a lot of advantages that we can get by studying foreign language even when we have no plan for traveling or working in overseas country. Firstly, being able to speak in overseas language will help us understand other things easily. A study has found that a person who is bilingual and trilingual understand new things easily than person who only knows how to speak in one language. Secondly, people who can speak in other country's languages will make wider circle of friends who come from other countries. In this modern era, people can befriend with other people from another country easily. By understanding their language, people can connect and communicate with them in an easy way.

In conclusion, learning overseas language when we have to travel or work in foreign country is beneficial because it will help people to do their daily activities in overseas country because all daily activities involve using foreign language. However, this is not a sole reason for people to learn foreign languages because there is a lot of benefits that we can get by studying foreign language, such as helping us understand other things easily and helping us to make wider circle of friends who come from other countries.