Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Almost any day of the week we can look at a newspaper and read articles discussing the reasons for learning foreign languages. There are several points of view on this matter. The first claims that it is essential for travelling around the world or for making a career abroad. An alternative point regards studying other languages as the wide range of different reasons.

On the one hand, it is obvious that in recent years there have been some significant changes in the standard of life. The trend working, studying and travelling overseas is becoming more and more popular. It does not matter whether you like it or not you have to recognize the fact that foreign languages play considerable role in the modern community. Moreover, nobody can deny that it is exceedingly challenging to replace the skills of communicating with something else totally.

However, this attitude may cause a vast amount of concerns among people who believe that learning the languages of various nations may be beneficial to us in order to improve our mental abilities. For example, scientists discovered that Chinese language has some features and learning it can help to optimize our memories. Nevertheless, in the last decades there have been some shifts in major languages of crucial importance is how we define the matter in question. It is often said that that we learn other languages in order to penetrate into culture or history of any nationality.

From my point of view, the former opinion makes sense definitely, as it follows from my own experience, as I learn English with aim to study in one of the western countries and to build a career there in the long run. In any way, an attitude to this issue always depends on a particular person’s character and a personal background.