Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Nowadays, the number of people learning other languages in addition to their native one is climbing significantly in order to its remarkable benefits. While it is widely believed that going or working abroad are the only purposes of learning new languages, the opponents of this idea, however, claim that there are still other causes. From my perspectives, I suppose that both these views have their own rationality to some extents.

On the one hand, traveling and working overseas is one of the most crucial reasons for individuals who want to learning foreign languages. This is because learning the destination countries’ languages would increases tourists’ ability to communicate with the locals. By this way, travellers could ask for help whenever they want if they get lost or need some helpful advices. Also, learning a new language could broaden job seekers’ opportunities. It is undeniable that the more countries you can apply, the higher rate you can be hired.

On the other hand, it is effortless to figure out other aims for language learners to try to know more than just their mother tongues. Firstly, it could give you chances to explore the enormous international sources of knowledge. For instance, there is a vastness of professional data referring to some specific major written by English that scholars and some scientists need to go through to complete their researches. Hence, they have to learn English in order to serve their studying path. Furthermore, learning foreign languages is also a brilliant way to discover the unique culture of other nations. Specifically, a language is the result of developing process of a country from ancient times until now. Thereby, it is able to reflect several habits as well as the locals’ customs so learners would figure out some amazing facts about the inhabitants living in this place.

In conclusion, whereas I admit that the major purposes for almost learners are joining an overseas tour or supporting successful career, I would argue that there are still numerous reasons for language learners.