Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.Discuss both views and give your own opp

There is no doubt that language has been the most common tool for communication since its invention by our ancestors. Nowadays, language is not limited to our mother tongue and myriads of people attempt to speak a foreign language as well. Yet, it is widely discussed as to whether the benefits of knowing a foreign language can be derived merely by traveling or working abroad. While there are valid arguments to the contrary, I personally believe that learning foreign languages can benefit people in many different ways rather than the ones already mentioned.

On the one hand, those who are supportive of the idea that the only ones taking advantageous from a foreign language are passengers or workers in a foreign country, have one main reason for their position. They point out that humans have always utilized language throughout history in order to exchange information and communicate with each other. Therefore, there is no use of a foreign language in your home country due to the fact that the country's native language is spoken by people not that foreign language.

On the other hand, those holding an opposite view claim that there are many more reasons to learn a foreign language. Firstly, it opens a window to a new world helping you access more information which might not be accessible or enough in your own mother tongue. To exemplify this, a multitude of information Iranian students and scientists need are accessible only in English. Moreover, the beauty of many eminent works such as novels and poems arises just when read in the original language. A good example of this is the poets written by Hafiz, an Iranian well-known poem, the translation of which in other languages may not represent all of its glory.

To sum up, I once reaffirm my position that the reasons to learn a foreign language is not limited to just traveling or working overseas and people can have many chances to benefit much more from it.