Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.Discuss both views and give your own opp

Some people say that a foreign language can help them for work and travel easily in overseas. While, others people believe that there are more reasons to study a foreign language than reasons for work and travel. This essay discusses the question from both points of view and I will give my own perspective on the matter.

On one side, it is obvious that people are keen to learn a foreign language in order to work or travel in a foreign country. The main reason is to communicate easily with local residents. More specifically, foreign language plays a significant role for helping people live in overseas. For example, the basic conversations are needed such as ordering food, asking for direction and so on. Furthermore, a foreign language enables people to work effectively in their areas. For instance, applying jobs in an overseas company, employees must influence English as part of employer’s requirement in order to get a job.

On the other hand, there are more benefits for people who learn a new language. First of all, people can study abroad. For example, 6.5 score in the IELTS test is required by the top universities in the United Kingdom. Additionally, to explore an overseas culture and need to know more the unique culture of them. For instance, a humorous short story in America, even if this is already translated in my native language, I will still get confused with the story. This is because a language wordplay.

In conclusion, both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I tend to

believe that learning a foreign language has more benefits than travel or work. This is because the merits of opportunity for study in top education institution and understanding culture abroad.