Some people say that what children watch influences their behaviour. Others believe that the amount of time they spend on television influences their behaviour most. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

While it is believed that watching TV affects children, it is hard to determine whether it is the content of TV programs or the large amount of time they spend on watching them that has an adverse effect on children. In my point of view, though the length of time does affect children, it is the content that has far more influence on them.

On the one hand, the consequences of watching TV for long periods could be deleterious. Firstly, the longer amount of time children are exposed to TV programs, the more likely it is for them to become addicted to television programs, which may hinder their social development. When children are getting over-reliant on television for entertainment, they might neglect engagement in outdoor activities, which lead to a sedentary habit that is relatively detrimental to their physical health. More crucially, over-watching Tv program impairs children’s communication abilities since they spend less time for social interaction. Therefore they may find it hard to integrate with other people.

On the other hand, it is the televised image contents that have the most serious impact on young viewers. First, in many countries, the vast majority of shows display glamorized depictions of inappropriate materials such as violence, drug abuse or casual sex. Thus, youngsters may try to adopt unhealthy habits and improper behaviour. For instance, they might be seduced by the impression that the use of alcoholic drinks is fashionable without being aware of health risks. Besides, as we are living in the consumerism era, commercials also have some impacts on how children behave. Unwary premature viewers could easily be appealed by captivating advertisements about junk food or video games, products whose target audience mostly is children. As a result, they might pester their parents to buy such goods impulsively.

In conclusion, for those reason mentioned above, it seems to me that what children watch on television has far more impact than the amount of time that they spend on. And parents should play their roles in controlling the content that children viewing.