Although more and more people read news on the Internet, newspapers

will remain the most important source of news. Do you agree or disagree?

Many traditionalists believe that, however, most people have access to the internet, conventional newspapers will continue as a major source of news. I firmly opposite with this view.

The speed and convenience of online news have led to the rising popularity in this digital age. Firstly, the internet is able to provide up-to-the-minute news as it happens, 24 hours a day every day. As long as I carry a smartphone or laptop with me, I can connect almost instantly to the internet, surf the websites and access the news of my preference across the globe. Secondly, more and more people now have access to the internet and this trend appears set to continue. The more widespread the accessibility of the internet, the more people will come to depend on it as their news source.

By contrast, newspapers have drawbacks which will affect their regard. One major disincentive of relying on newspapers as a news source is the cost. Besides, competing with freely available news online, newspapers publishers are dealing with the reality of falling their circulation figures. Some prominent American newspapers have currently introduced online versions alongside their printed editions in an attempt to arrest this trend. Another disadvantage of the newspaper is that the amount of paper consumed in their production. Since many people have increasingly been developed a sense of environmental awareness, so there is a body of public opinion which refuses to buy newspapers because this means cutting tree and transporting them to paper mills. While this may not be a major concern at the present, the environmental argument will almost certainly gain a foothold amongst the public in the future.

In conclusion, I would argue that the newspaper will continue to decline in the rate of readers, and more and more people will get to read news by the means of internet.