Some people suggest that children do not understand the world of work and schools should make all teenagers spend a short time working as well as studying academic subjects.To what extent do you agree?

As in modern society, it is assumed that adolescents are not exposed much to the world of jobs. Although others acknowledge that some education programs should encourage students doing part-time jobs while studying, some parents want their children to fully concentrate on academic study. Generally speaking, I disagree with this statement, having teenagers working as part-time employment.

To begin with, even though students attending a working environment may gain various working experiences and develop some technical skills, the side issues might affect the learner’s academic performances which will be discussed soon. Moreover, some students acquire mental stability in the real world from hands-on experience rather than in school. Therefore, this would be a major advantage for them to be familiar and more flexible with any tasks given for the future jobs. As a result, teenagers would establish a more fundamental foundation. For instance, young celebrities who start getting involved in the entertainment industry may have a greater base for their future performances than stars starting their debut in older ages. Younger celebrities can absorb various skills for easier access in complex situations through past working experiences.

On the other hand, students who start working at an early age might become overwhelmed. The working community might affect their studies, namely lack of concentration in lectures which cause stress, mental exhaustion, leading to poor efficiency in their academic results. Therefore, the lack of knowledge may be a disadvantage on a few prospects in future life time such as filling out the academic application for future jobs. For example, people in the illegal age range in Vietnam are still working due to family financial problems. By doing life threatening physical construction works to earn enough money for the time being.

All things considered, whilst gaining job experience, early temporary employment would deeply affect students being overworked which may reduce the effectiveness in study results. Needless to say, I believe that students should acknowledge their targets in studies are essential for building a “base” for a better future rather than acquiring work experience and consequently, I disagree with this statement.