Some people think that all lawbreaker should be put into prison, while others believed that there are better alternatives. Discuss both view and give your opinion

Imprisonment has been a widely controversial topic for quite a long time. Whilst there is a huge amount of people supporting the ideas of putting all the lawbreakers into the prison, several others believed in a better alternative. In my opinion, both of these parties have their own right point and it is necessary to combine all the methods for a desirable outcome

On the one hand, there is a variety of explanations for the prison punishment. First and foremost, by serving the prison sentence, offenders are ensured not to cause more harm to society. It is irrefutable that if the criminals are not being locked in the stockade, they could pose an even more serious threat to other citizens. Take slaughters or terrorists for example. In this circumstance, lifetime imprisonment is the most effective way to prevent them from increasing mortalities. Another reason that worth considering is that captivity can act as a deterrent for the potential criminal. The fear of harsh prison condition or being isolated from their family reportedly made numerous offenders, especially the juvenile ones, hesitated before committing a crime as well as prevented several ex-prisoners from backsliding, to mention but a few.

Nevertheless, the opposite sides have their arguments. In the first place, they believed prison failed to act as a hindrance of these lawbreakers. There seem to be shreds of evidence that the criminal frequent breed resentment in jail. Moreover, ex-criminals often found it difficult to reintegration due to discrimination. Consequently, they eventually back to their sinful way of living. To avoid this worrisome tendency, providing educational and vocational training can be a much more efficient method instead of locking offenders in some penitential or reformatory. It can be said that when lawbreakers are fully aware of the danger of breaking the rules, they will obey the legislation system voluntarily

To sum up, while the imprisonment has the beneficial function of protecting the well-being of other dwellers from dangerous criminals as well as made the potential lawbreaker hesitated, the education methods is also vital to solving the problem completely