Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole.

Do you agree or disagree?

Owing to the significant increasing of society’s problems, opinion has been divided on whether or not adolescents should be forced to do voluntary work in their spare time. Although many pragmatic works by young people benefit the society, the idea that we should force them to do unpaid works is entirely against my belief.

Most young people are already under enough pressure with their studies, without being given some unpaid works in their spare time. This party because of the fact that teacher might want their students to concentrate to do large amounts of homework or assignments to obtain flying colors in official tests. Another reason is that their parents believe a good transcript could easily bring them some chief university, hence securing a high-paid stable job. At the same time, unpaid work could bring chances for them to be aware of some problems challenging society such as working with the needy or the poor. However, this type of work requires maturity and experience which the young people omit to possess.

Reasonably, I doubt that local community could gain some efficient result from obliging students to do unpaid work. An illustration, a friend of mine, at the age of 17, volunteered at a large-scale campaign for kids under 8 years old in a national park. He had appointed as a captain of a team which is full of little elf and main cooker. He, obviously, had manifold means of work and had forgotten fire was still burned after cooking. That this case could have been a great fire and made people face the death, had not the chief leader noticed and yelled out loud. This demonstrates that young people would simply damage a project.

In conclusion, teenagers may choose to work as a volunteer, but in my opinion we should not make this become compulsory.