Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole.

Do you agree or disagree?

Opinion has been divided on whether or not juveniles should be asked to do voluntary work in their spare time to help the local society, that would benefit themselves and also the community. Notwithstanding, I against the idea that we should force them to do the unpaid work.

Modern society requires more high-calibre staffs so that the education of children is now the most considerable element. Therefore, teenagers nowadays have to study more, and also have more assignments than ever before, and their free time is less. They would not like to do work in their spare time while the schooling brings enough stress for them. Provided that teenagers are obliged to do anything that is not their favors, they would do it without carefully considerable attention, thereby worse qualify. With that horrible consequence, the local society might not receive the benefits from the juveniles.

Some proponents of the preceding idea might argue that voluntary work probably teaches the teenagers some pragmatic lessons, and also improve their skills, which could help them in the future. However, I do not believe that the times that teenagers spend on unpaid work could be enough for them to learn or practice something is new, especially skills. Learning something always need a great deal of time for teenagers to absorb, and to know a thing more specifically would be impossible. They do not have enough time for that based on the school’s schedule of tests in a semester, besides mock test.

In conclusion, we should not require teenagers to do unpaid work in their spare time because of their busy schooling.