Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both views and give your opinions.

So many people argue whether should let students at university freedom to choose their favorite subjects or force them to study compulsory subjects which benefit them in the future. From my perspective, I hold the view that everyone should able to study the course of their choice.

There are multitudinous reasons why people believe that the university should only offer subjects that will be useful in the future. Science subjects provide a very important source of knowledge which is fundamental for professional jobs for those who want to be a doctor in the future, for instance. Moreover, a focus on technology in higher education could lead to new inventions, economic growth, and greater future prosperity. Therefore, forcing students to study the subjects which are appointed at university having their own merits.

In spite of these arguments, I believe that students should be free to choose their preferred areas of study. It may not be science or technology but it can be teaching, creative designing and many more. Besides, nobody can predict which areas of knowledge will be useful in the future, and it may be that employers begin to value creative thinking skills above practical or technical skills. Finally, society will benefit more if our students are passionate about what they are learning, from that more and more innovation and invention might be created.

In conclusion, although it might seem reasonable for the university to force students to study some compulsory subjects, I personally hold the idea that students should have the right to choose what they have a passion for.