Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

These days, education is compulsory for both career and country development. While admission in only demanding fields like science and technology is emphasized by one type of people, others alleged that students should have the liberty to choose their area of interest. This essay will discuss that why restricting them from following their instinct would be preposterous.

To begin with, science and technology is undeniably the most prominent subjects on the global scale. The country economy and development is dependent on these areas, due to the fact that a single innovation or breakthrough can make them ahead of the competitors. To exemplify, now Germany is in the list of economical strong country due to scientific breakthroughs. In addition, the future prospects of these fields are bright because these are supported and favored by both companies and government. Along with plenty of employment opportunities, its wages are one of the highest in the world. Even one having enough skills can earn hefty amount in home as well because of remote working opportunities. Indeed, it is purely justified to encourage students to get into the fields which has guaranteed career growth.

Despite the importance of science and technology, not letting the students to study whatever they like would be totally wrong. This will only lead to the wastage of time and energy, because they will never make the bond with something which is against their interest. For instance, my classmate dropped from university due to the reason that his parents forced him to become a programmer instead of singer. This situation can be further exacerbated when they become the victim of stress and depression, which in worst case scenario can even lead to suicide. For example, the Canada mortality rate among young individuals is mostly caused by studying irrelevant subjects because of parents wish. It is due these reasons, they should not be deprived of their basic right.

In conclusion, either students should take the course of their choice or not is a controversial issue. This essay discussed that why forcing them to go against their will while choosing the subject, is wrong and absurd. In my opinion, although I do believe, that scientific discoveries are important, still freedom in choosing their field is their right and by not allowing them, could have the negative consequences.