Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Subjects taught in university educational programme continue to be a controversial topic since the years students spend there build the fundamentals of their professional career. Although personalised by students’ preference programme is thought by some to be appropriate, other people consider that focus on science and technology only is what would be useful in the future. In my opinion, I think that the diversity of information is more practical and a balanced approach combining mandatory subjects related to science and technology with subjects of students’ interest is the key to successful graduation.

Admittedly, there are many benefits of learning the core basics of science and technology, as these topics are driving the progress of humanity. Is there anything better than this, but develop an understanding of the importance these subjects hold in our future generation? Furthermore, students will have the opportunity to be part of the most vastly expanding research field which has proven to be the key to innovation.

Nevertheless, despite the benefits above, I believe higher education students are grown enough to take responsible decisions concerning their study programme and along with their mandatory subjects, a few other should be left open for their choice. This would enhance the commitment to apply themselves in the study work. One potentially dangerous problem of forcing students to focus only on science and technology related subjects is losing their interest, rendering them to drawn in boredom and despair. Thus, the easiest way to avoid such situation is to make students involved in structuring their curriculum, making them feel important in shaping their future. Secondly, students always engage with the given task with surprisingly interesting ideas, taking full advantage of the interdisciplinary approach.

In conclusion, I would suggest that the best way to ensure commitment and strong academic performance is to use the balanced approach of compulsory subjects and give them partially the freedom to come up with subjects of their choice.