Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent years, the importance of art as a school subject is gaining a great deal of attention throughout the society. Most importantly, the issue has been a bone of contention among the pedagogical experts and pundits regarding its inclusion in the syllabus. While some critics consider spending time for art as a wastage, I would contend that it should be considered as a mandatory subject for the children at a certain level at the school.

On the one hand, it is inevitable that art promotes creativity. This means the kids who are being exposed to this sort of activities, exert constructive and innovative thoughtfulness. Therefore, these school children are being discouraged for violent and crime-related actions in the long run. In an empirical survey conducted in Britain last year by the Education Ministry reflects the same notion. The survey shows the children who had art in their curriculum till 5th grade, were 35% more creative thinkers than their counterparts who were more involved in other issues rather than arts and cultural things. Furthermore, those students showed a more positive attitude in every aspect in their next periods of life.

Conversely, some critics suggest that improving creativity through art does not necessarily improves the future prospects of them in the job market. To their understanding, it keeps them quite vulnerable to cope up with the current competitive landscape of life. This, in turn, may contribute to feeling insecure in the future world. Therefore, parents who are giving more emphasis on other practical things of life, are actually preparing their kids best -fitted for their betterment. This can be exemplified by the initiatives in Japan for the last few decades, where the government is subsidising the educational costs for learning productive knowledge. This is being reflected in Japan’s growth of GDP in the last five years from 2% to 12%, and thus the fund spent on vocational education is really worthy. Hence, to them, having art in the school subject seems a mundane issue.

All things considered, the value of art should not be discounted for the sake of a growing economy. I personally believe, young aspirants should be deterred from the typical rate race of materialistic success with money matters. Rather, they should spend on the mental development of the future generation which can be fortified at a great level by the means of art and cultural activities at their initial ages of life.