Some parents believe that reading books for entertainment is a waste of time for children and they think that their children should only read serious educational books.

What is your opinion?

In recent years, the reading habits of the children have been gaining a great deal of attention among the parents. Most importantly, the issue has been a bone of contention among the parents on spending hours with books for entertainment rather than educational contents. While many parents consider reading books for fun is just wastage of time and the kids should focus on knowledge, however, I would contend that children must get some freedom to entertain themselves with books rather than serious and knowledge-based contents.

On the one hand, the competition for getting good grades are growing day by day. Hence, the parents consider that their kids must spend time wisely and always should focus on education. That is why, to them, entertainment is a less important issue for higher marks and it is wastage of valuable time. Moreover, children, these days are leading their life with the predetermined compact schedule by their parents and teachers. Therefore, literally, they do not have enough time to think about reducing stress with funny books. In relation to this, parents consider reading educational books even in leisure time will help their kids to utilize the time in a best possible approach and making them ready for future battle.

Conversely, some parents consider that the total educational system and the society are trying to push their kids into the unhealthy rat race of getting good marks and ending up with high salaries. In most cases, these creates extreme mental pressure on the psychology of the children. Therefore, these parents are thinking about to break this vicious cycle by giving freedom to their kids. Thus, when it comes to reading comics, storybooks or other funny books for entertainment, they encourage their children more positively. Furthermore, these liberal parents believe that education is required but not in expense of the tender childhood with boring books of geometry or physics. Rather, they feel that reading funny books can be a constructive source of entertainment which is far better than spending time on screen with mobile games.

All things considered, reading educational books in leisure time cannot be a productive approach for developing a better future. Personally, I believe, entertainment is crucial for every kid and pertaining to that context, books are always a harmless friend indeed.