Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motor bike To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is widely believed that raising the minimum driving age is the most effective way to prevent accidents. While I agree that the increasing driving age makes a significant contribution to reducing accidents, I believe that other methods are equally important and should be taken into account.

On the one hand, I agree that raising the minimum age for obtaining a driving license can be an effective road safety measure. Firstly, older drivers are more mature and gain more experience compared to younger drivers. Therefore, they can make quicker and wiser decisions to avoid potentially dangerous and unpredicted situations on the road. If a person crosses the road suddenly, for example, younger drivers might be frightened and panic, while older drivers might turn or brake the wheel instead. Secondly, increasing the minimum age for driving allows adolescents more time to sharpen their driving skills. They can enroll in defensive driving courses to learn how to deal with various driving scenarios, which will help them minimize the risk of accidents in the future.

On the other hand, I believe that enhanced safety on the road can be achieved through other measures that are more effective than raising the minimum age for driving. To begin with, more stricter regulations should be imposed, which would act as a deterrent to traffic law breakers. For instance, people who run red lights in Singapore are fined heavily, making them more responsible in order to avoid future punishments. In addition, governments should allocate financial resources to improve public transportation, which would encourage residents to drive their private cars or motorbikes less frequently. As a result, these citizens will no longer worry about the risk that they face when driving their own vehicles, such as driving while inebriated or falling asleep behind the wheel.

In conclusion, while raising the legal driving age can help to make our roads safer to some extent, I believe that governments should implement the other road safety methods mentioned above.