Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motor bike To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is argued that raising the minimum age requirement for drivers is the most effective measure to enhance safety on the roads. While this approach can potentially reduce the number of traffic accidents, I believe that enforcing stricter punishments for traffic violations and upgrading public transport will be more practical solutions to address the root causes of road accidents.

Undoubtedly, increasing the minimum legal age for vehicle drivers can decrease some accidents on the roads. In reality, young drivers who might lack experience and immaturity are more likely to engage in reckless and dangerous driving behaviors, putting themselves and other commuters in danger. By requiring individuals to wait until they are older to obtain a formal driver’s license can encourage them to operate their vehicles more responsibly and cautiously, creating a safer and more secure driving enviroment for all road users. For example, some countries, such as Japan and South Korea, where the minimum age for drivers is higher, have had lower accident rates involving young drivers.

However, implementing a higher legal age for drivers does not fully address the underlying causes of traffic accidents. Moreover, roads accidents can stem from various factors, including poor transportation infrastructure and careless driving behaviors, not solely from young commuters. Therefore, imposing stricter penalties for traffic offenders such as heavy fines or extended license suspensions for repeat offenders, would serve as an effective deterrent against reckless driving behaviors. In addition, the government should invest in public transportion enhancement, consisting of providing more bus and train services, which can encourage drivers to less rely on their private vehicles, ultimately leading to fewer road accidents. The Mass Rapid Transit Sytem in Singapore, for example, has successfully reduced the traffic crashes involving younger drivers by introducing a strict law and harsh punishment for traffic violations, along with a well-establishment underground subway system.

In conclusion, although increasing a higher minimum age for drivers can improve road safety by discourage young commuters from reckless driving patterns, I am of the option that enhancements of public transport and harsh penaltines for traffic offenses will the most effective measure to tackle the underlying causes of these issues. I am also convinced that once these regulations are implemented, there will be more people obeying strict laws, which contributes to creating a safety conditions for road users.