Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe that there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The issue of the government imposing lengthy punishments on offenders has heated up in recent years. In my opinion, while many assert this action as an optimum approach to a crime deterrent, there are some alternatives that can promise more satisfying outcomes.

On the one hand, carrying long custodial sentences can play a pivotal role in protecting the well-being of the society and as a comfort to the victim’s family. First, when keeping individuals who committed dreadful crimes in captivity, the authorities can preclude them from contaminating the law-abiding citizens. Take terrorism and serial murder crime as examples, since the perpetrators’ hatred towards the society is deeply ingrained and unbending, it will be a serious threat to the safety of community to let them walk freely without apprehension. Second, in regard of the relatives of the victims, the punishment towards the offenders is a way to make up for their loss and show justice to the sufferers. Lengthy imprisonment is also the legal vengeance in a crime-ridden society.

On the other hand, there are better alternatives to long-time imprisonment that can be put under scrutiny, with formative education being counted as one. By providing ethical practices at early age, the government and schools can help young people distinguish between right and wrong and avoid law violating actions. Not only can the youngsters dodge juvenile delinquency to uphold an ordered society in the near future, they are also able to avoid the hideous and dooming experience of prison which exerts detrimental effect on their mental and physical health. Besides that, since prevention is always better than cure, stricter laws and punitive actions should be enforced to protect the population safety. For example, when traffic laws like speed limits, seat belt laws or drunk driving restrictions are enacted, the number of road accidents occurred in countries like America, Canada or Korea have noticeably decreased. Stringent laws can work as a guidance to curb the citizens’ behaviors.

In conclusion, although protracted imprisonment is perceived as a great way to control wrongdoings among the population, education and stringent law are also some other solutions worthy of consideration.